Berwick Speedway have confirmed that two of their riders from the 2021 squad will return next season.

Thursday, 4th November 2021, 10:36 am
Updated Monday, 8th November 2021, 9:12 am
Riders of the Year, Leon Flint (Bandits) and Greg Blair (Bullets), with Bonus Point King Kyle Bickley. Flint and Bickjley are confirmed starters for 2022.

Teenage pair Leon Flint and Kyle Bickley, who both rode with the Bandits and the Bullets in the Championship and National Development League, with again don the club colours in 2022.

Flint will race with the Bandits only, whilst Bickley will ride in the senior team and also skipper the Bullets.

They now take the Bandits’ tally for the season to three, following the recent announcement that GB international and the vastly experienced Chris Harris will be lining up with the Shielfield Park club when the tapes go up on the new campaign in the spring.

Flint, who also rode for Wolverhampton in the Premiership and lined up in the Swedish League in 2021, said: “I am delighted to be riding for the Bandits – my home town club – again next season and I can’t wait to be riding alongside ‘Bomber,’ (Harris), who is a vastly experienced and respected rider.”

Father and team manager Gary Flint said: “Leon’s progress last season was unbelievable and he proved he can beat anyone in the league.

“I’m very proud of him from a professional and personal perspective and I really feel that we are starting to shape up as a very competitive and exciting team for the upcoming season."

On Bickley co-promoter Jamie Courtney said: "We are really excited to bring Kyle back to Shielfield Park in 2022. Kyle was the real deal for the Bullets in 2021 and he really started banging in some impressive wins in the Championship too.

"Having ‘Bomber’ in the side, one of Britain’s greatest ever racers, can only help Kyle’s career trajectory and we are very proud to welcome him back to not only an exciting Bandits side but also as the skipper for the 2022 Bullets’ team."

Meanwhile, the club held their end of season party in the Black & Gold at Shielfield on Saturday when riders from the Bandits, Bullets and the Academy, who won the Northern Junior League, joined fans for their annual get-together and presentation of trophies.

Leon Flint won three ‘Rider of the Year’ trophies with the Bandits and Greg Blair lifted two with the Bullets. Bonus Point winner was Kyle Bickley.