Berwick Bandits to host Scunthorpe in SGB Championships opener

This season’s Speedway Great Britain (SGB) Championships fixtures have been revealed and Berwick Bandits will host Scunthorpe in their opening match on May 1.

Monday, 22nd February 2021, 12:43 pm
Speedway news

The 12 Championship teams will compete for a place in the play-offs and the Knockout Cup will also take place with ties arranged with travel distance in mind.

Several blank dates appear in the fixture list with promoters making contingency plans in case the scheduled May start has to be pushed back.

British Speedway Promoters Ltd Chairman Rob Godfrey said: “I know supporters will question the amount of gaps in the fixture list, but we have to allow space for any further delay to our season.

“I can also reveal a sub-committee consisting of Danny Ford at Poole, Jamie Courtney at Berwick and Graeme Campbell of Edinburgh will be looking into the logistics involved in streaming a number of Championship fixtures.”

Bandits’ fixtures: May 1 – Scunthorpe (h); May 7 – Glasgow (a); May 8 – Glasgow (h); May 16 – Eastbourne (a); May 22 – Birmingham (h); June 5 – Leicester (h); June 6 – Leicester (a); June 8 – Plymouth (a); June 9 – Poole (a); June 12 – Redcar (h); June 20 – Newcastle (a); July 2 – Scunthorpe (a); July 3 – Newcastle (h); July 9 – Edinburgh (a); July 10 – Edinburgh (h); July 30 – Knockout Cup – Glasgow (a); July 31 – Knockout Cup – Glasgow (h); August 6 – Redcar (a); August 7 – Poole (h); August 14 – Plymouth (h); August 17 – Kent (a); August 18 – Birmingham (a); August 21 – Kent (h); August 28 – Eastbourne (h).