Wheelers compete in Border Trophy TT

This week saw the racing season really get into full throttle.

Wednesday, 18th May 2016, 11:33 am
Updated Wednesday, 18th May 2016, 12:37 pm

Wednesday was the first round of this year’s Border Trophy time trial series. Hosted by Gala on a sunny, but windy night, an entry of 62 riders really got the event off to a great start.

Gala led the way by just about a minute from their eight scoring riders, with Hawick in second and Berwick third, a couple of minutes further back, followed by last year’s winners Kelso, Mussleburgh, then Auchencrow.

Round two is on Berwick’s Pistol 10 course on May 26. Let’ hope home advantage brings the club right back into the race for a series win.

The club time trial on Thursday gave a first long one for 25 miles down towards Greenlaw from Hutton crossroads.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Good conditions gave Andrew Scorey the win in a blistering 57.11, knocking well over a minute off his personal best. Doug Robertson took second in 1.01.51, and Chris Cowe placed third with the ride of the night, a 1.03.16, taking an enormous six minutes off his previous best time from last season.

The PBs didn’t finish there as both Michelle Highfield and John Cockburn also set new best times.

Next week’s race sees the first Club Championship of the season, a 10-miler. Riders meet on Thursday at the crossroads, at 6.30pm for a 7pm start.

Andrew Scorey and Dom Blythe took a trip to Hetton le Hole on Saturday. Dom raced in the 3 and 4 Category criterium event, and was well set for a great finishing position when he was knocked clean off the circuit by another rider with just one lap to go. He managed to hold his balance on the verge, but a puncture ended his race prematurely.

Andrew raced the main event of the day for Elite, 1st and 2nd Cat riders. Andrew was in much of the action from the off and gave an excellent account of his current form to take a well earned 8th place and continue his record of having not finished lower than 9th in any criterium he has entered.

Club 25-mile results: A Scorey 57.11 PB, D Robertson 1.01.51, C Cowe 1.03.16 PB, J Mark (L) 1.09.13, M Highfield (L) 1.14.15 PB, W Field (L) 1.14.54, J Cockburn 1.28.41 PB, N Cruickshanks DNF (puncture).