Tillside take T20 trophy by the narrowest of margins in final

Tillside 1sts celebrated a last gasp win in the final of the Thomas Wilson T20 Cup when they beat Blue Flames by the narrowest of margins at Benwell. The Etal side snatched victory by only one run.

Monday, 1st August 2016, 3:09 pm
Updated Monday, 1st August 2016, 4:13 pm

Tillside got off to a flyer and found themselves 54-0 off the six powerplay overs, with Liam Hindmarsh and Jack Bagness both going well. Hindmarsh was eventually caught on the boundary going for a six, having accumulated 64 off 43 balls, including eight fours.

Bagness then upped his own scoring rate and soon reached 50, Tillside finishing on 140-4 off their 20 overs.

Jake Birkett lost 15 in the first over as Blue Flames made a good start in response.

Luke Dickson replaced him and picked up a wicket in his second over to leave Flames on 32-1.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Richard Chapman hit 40, and with Andrew Horner on 29 not out, they were always in with a shout as the scoreboard ticked over. Law Atkinson produced an outstanding catch on the boundary, and the opposition needed 23 off the last three overs to win.

This was reduced to 13 off the final over, but a run-out had Flames wobbling, although they still gave themselves a chance, needing six off the last ball to win.

They managed to hit a boundary, but only a four, giving them 139, meaning Tillside had won by one in a dramatic finale.

On Saturday Tillside had a slightly easier victory, winning by 54 runs against Blagdon Park in the Premier League.

Tillside started well and were 30-0, but as the rain started to fall Liam Hindmarsh was caught behind for 27. They were soon 41-3 and as wickets continued to tumble they were 68-8, with Duncan Sim on 29.

Calum Bickerton, batting at number 11, hit a late 23 and Tillside ended on 134.

Sim took a wicket in the first over and Blagdon then found themselves at 33-3 off 10.

The match turned when Jake Birkett managed to take 4-19, which saw Blagdon all out for 80.

Berwick 1sts had a comfortable seven wicket home win over Gateshead EM.

The visitors arrived with only 10 men and were restricted to 108, with Scott Middlemist taking 6-19.

Berwick then chased it down with seven wickets to spare, with Finlay McCreath on 30, Nalinda Premachandra on 27 and James Patterson on 24.

In Division 1, Berwick 2nds had a 74-run victory over Cramlington 2nds.

Berwick made a poor start to their innings, with wickets falling at regular intervals, and it was only an unbeaten knock of 60 from Brian Simmons and 30 from Niall Jones, batting at 10, which helped them to a score of 151 in their 45 overs.

Dominic Hall was Cramlington’s most successful bowler with figures of 4-20.

In reply, Cramlington were all out for only 77, with Adam Robson their top scorer on 15.

Mark Woodcock took 3-11, with three others taking two wickets apiece.

Also in Division 1, Warenford had a narrow four run home victory over Clara Vale.

Michael Thompson hit 63, Daniel Patterson 41 and Gordon Stephenson 30 not out as Warenford opened up with 202-9 in their 50 overs.

Sadiq Amin then hit 80 for Clara Vale, and with Shahzad Alvi on 49, the visitors were always in with a shout. However, they came up just short, finishing on 198 in the 47th over.

Ian Patterson and Michael Thompson both claimed three wickets apiece in what was always a close encounter.

Tillside 2nds won by seven wickets when they travelled to take on Blue Flames 2nds in Division 2.

David Robertson claimed six wickets as Blue Flames were all out for 130 in their innings.

Keith Bickerton then hit 50 as Tillside passed their target with only three wickets down.

In Division 3 Wooler were awarded the full 30 points after Monkseaton conceded their fixture at Glendale.

Embleton lost by five wickets when they faced Monkseaton 2nds at home in Division 3.

Cemeron Thorpe top scored with an unbeaten 36 as Embleton posted 119 all out in the 29th over.

Robert Zanetti then hit 88 not out as Monkseaton replied with 122-5 in the 40th over.

Rock lost by six wickets when they entertained Alnmouth and Lesbury.

Kevin Wilson hit 44 and Kieran North 26 as Rock made 113 all out, with Richard Elliott and Thorsten Robinson each taking three wickets.

In reply, Alnmouth and Lesbury hit 115-4.