Shortlist for sports awards announced

The shortlist for the annual Berwick Sports Awards has been announced.

By The Newsroom
Saturday, 20 February, 2016, 08:00
Scott Thomson and Erin Rankin (Stair Captains) receiving the Ian Paterson House Sports Trophy from headmaster James Ferguson for their house being declared champions for 2015..

Winners will receive their awards at a presentation evening to be held in Berwick Rugby Club on Friday, February 26.

Those shortlisted are:

Senior male sports personality, sponsored by Active Northumberland

Brian Thompson (cricket): Plays for Warenford. More than 1,114 runs, including six centuries. Northumberland division two batsman of the year.

Jake Birkett (cricket): Plays for Tillside and Northumbria University. 707 runs and 41 league wickets. Northumberland’s under-21 player of the season.

Cameron Tindle (athletics): Full Scottish international at IAAF World Youth Championships in Columbia and Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa.

Senior female sports personality, sponsored By Active Northumberland

Sue Weatherburn (athletics): England master international. Competed in international cross-country event in Dublin.

Hilary Cairns and Alison Inglis (rowing): World masters gold medallists in Belgium.

Amanda Hindmarsh (cricket): Plays for Tillside. Founder member, team captain and instrumental in establishing Tillside women’s cricket team.

Senior team of the year, sponsored by Perryman’s Buses

Berwick Rugby Club: BT east region champions.

Berwick Ladies’ Hockey Club: Northumberland division A champions.

Tweedmouth Amateurs: Border Amateurs division C champions.

Tillside Cricket Club second XI: Northumberland division three champions.

Junior team of the year, sponsored by Galedin Veterinary

Berwick Tennis Club under-14 team: Border league champions.

Longridge Towers KS3 boys’ badminton team: Regional champions and competed in national championships.

Lowick FC girls’ under-14s: Northumberland league cup winners and summer tournament winners.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Junior female sports personality, sponsored by Berwick Rotary Club

Abi Rae (jiu-jitsu): British national and junior European gold medals.

Brogan Ashley (cricket): Northumberland under-15 and full Northumberland ladies’ honours and played for Tillside men’s 1st and 2nd XIs.

Josie Newton (gymnastics): National development tumbling squad silver medallist.

Georgia Davidson (athletics and netball): Northumberland Netball Academy and seventh in Border cross-country.

Junior male sports personality, sponsored by Kieran Cromarty Electricals.

Leon Flint (speedway and mini-bike): British mini-bike champion and 1,500cc British Speedway junior champion.

Andrew Hogg (badminton and tennis): Northumberland badminton champion and member of Borders League champion tennis team.

Oscar Onley (athletics and cycling): County cross -country and 1,500m athletics champion, Scottish U14 duathlon champ.

Matheos Ferreira (jiu-jitsu): British national and junior European gold medals.

Jeavon Leighton (jiu-jitsu): British national and junior European gold medals.

Volunteer of the year

Owen Weatherhead ( Berwick Rugby Club).

Stewart Wright and Stuart Darling (Berwick RFC juniors).

Steven and Rosie Ingram (Berwick Juniors FC).

Coach of the year

Andy Thorpe (Lowick FC girls).

Thiago Ferreira (jiu-jitsu).

David Brown (Tweedmouth Amateurs FC).