Records tumble at Berwick Curfew Run

The 2018 Berwick Curfew Run Record temperatures and a record turnout of 307 on Wednesday meant two out of three records were broken at the annual Curfew Fun Run and Curfew Run.

Tuesday, 10th July 2018, 1:29 pm
Updated Tuesday, 10th July 2018, 3:05 pm

The only record that didn’t fall – and this was not through lack of effort - was that of the Curfew Run itself.

7.30pm signalled the start of the Curfew Fun Run and, with a maximum turnout of 175, this was full to capacity. First boy and first girl to cross the line were Conal Ham and Amber Eden.

Amongst the other 173 were Tweed Strider juniors Alisha and Sophie Black with mum Louise, Cerys and Finley Bowden with mum Deborah, Lily and Sean Capes with mum Sarah, Maisi Coulter with mum Jenni, Charlie Etherington with mum Claire, Chloe Ferguson, Abigail Huntly, Lola Jardine, Rory McCreath, Jayden and Rebecca Mavin with dad Andrew, Jenson Mitchell with dad Craig, Marti Riley with mum and dad Julie and Stuart, Faye Robertson with mum Laura, Frankie Scott with mum Wendy and Laila Turnbull with mum Sarah.

8pm then heralded the start of the Curfew Run with all 132 (a record turnout and close to the maximum of 150) runners aiming to beat the bells.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The field were led home by holiday-maker Simeon Bates who took the tape – and the trophy for First Senior Man - in 6.24, some 19 seconds adrift of the course records. It is not outwith the grounds of possibility that should Simeon return to the area next year then the record could fall as he would race with the advantage of knowing the course.

The winner of the trophy for First Seniors Lady was Annabel Lillico who finished in 8.56. First Junior Man and First Junior Lady were James Gilhome and Tweed Striders’ Jessica Wallace (7.07 and 11.07 respectively).

Tweed Striders who finished in the top 20 were Stuart Black (8th in 7.34), Rick Davie (15th in 8.01 – a pity about that pesky second !) and Dave Watson (18th in 8.24). They were followed over the line by Stephen Ball (8.32), Colin Blackburn (8.33), Neil Stalker (8.43), Doug Small (8.44), juniors Bobby Scott (8.45) and Stuart Whitehead (9.11), first Tweed Strider lady and 3rd lady overall Laura Jeffery (9.28), Mark Short (9.29), Stephen Whitehead (9.25), Colin Thompson (10.03), Will McDermott (10.11), Heather Barnes (10.19), Laura Walton (10.28), Paul Summers (10.38), Nicola Stebbing (11.19), Heather Dickson (11.38), Helen Huntly (11.41), Laura Robertson (11.44 – her second run of the night !), Lynsey Jardine (11.52), Jo Payne (11.57), Gail Jones (11.59), Nikki Robertson (12.05), Claire Johnston (12.09), Cheryl Scott (12.11), Jennifer Greenwood (13.00), junior Katie Thompson (13.06), Lydia Simpson (13.07), Julie Newton (13.15), Caroline Mullins (13.24), Gemma Patterson (13.36), Megan Meldrum (13.53), Di Renner (14.09), Joan Nisbet (14.27), Ailsa Wedderburn (14.52), Susan Meldrum (15.06), Laura Percy-Doolan (15.11), Anna and Stuart Richardson (both 15.24), Susan Whyte (13.52), Tracey Dick (15.35) and Joanna Ryan (15.48).

Tweed Striders would like to express their grateful thanks and appreciation, firstly, to Simpsons Malt for their continued sponsorship of the Curfew Fun Run and the Curfew Run and, secondly, to Borders and Berwick Touch Therapies, Fantasy Prints, Morrisons, Silvery Tweed Cereals, Tesco, Travis Perkins, Tweedmouth Service Station Mitsubishi for their support.