Henderson andclub are '˜miles apart' over deal

Berwick manager John Coughlin has started his team-building for next season with three players signing new contracts.

Tuesday, 26th April 2016, 1:53 pm
Updated Tuesday, 26th April 2016, 2:57 pm
Blair Henderson, Berwick Rangers

Defender Robert Wilson, midfielder Michael McKenna and striker Darren Lavery have all penned two-year deals, just weeks after Coughlin himself agreed a two-year deal on a full-time basis.

But Coff admits that his plans for next season may not include leading scorer Blair Henderson, who so far has failed to accept terms for 2016-17.

“We have made Blair an offer,” said the manager, “which is based on the budget I have been given by the board.

“But Blair has rejected the offer, claiming he wants more money, and at the moment we are miles apart.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

“Hopefully, a compromise can be reached, but we will just have to wait and see on that one.”

Coughlin says he is currently working on other deals for some of his existing players and news on their conclusions will be announced in due course.

Henderson was one of several players who picked up awards at the club’s end of season presentations, which were held in the Black and Gold on Saturday, immediately after the 2-0 home win over East Fife.

Henderson, with 18 goals to his credit so far this term, was named as leading scorer, and also picked up the awards from the Junior Suporters’ Club the Borders Supporters’ Club and the Supporters’ Trust.

Fullback Ewan McNeil picked up three awards, from the Supporters’ Club, for Players’ Player and for best goal.

Stevie Notman also received three awards, as Directors’ Player, the Tweeddale Press Player of the Year and a Special Achievement Award for his long-standing association with the club.

Jordan McGregor was named as the Social Media Player of the Year and the Raymond Hogg Memorial went to Finn Graham.

The U20 Development squad winners were Barry Hogg (Players’ Player) and Daniel Watt (Player of the Year).

There was also a special presentation to outgoing chairman Brian Porteous, who is standing down at the end of the season.

The award was made by the club’s longest standing director, John Hush, who said: “I have worked with many chairmen over the years and without doubt this man is one of the best.”

Earlier in the day the ‘Clubman’ award was made to Alan Meins, who runs the 50-50 half-time draw, whilst club secretary and programme editor Dennis McCleary received the award for the Ladbrokes Division 2 ‘Programme of the Year’.