Hat-trick for The Curfew

The Curfew micropub in Berwick, run by Gemma and David Cook, has won the Northumberland Pub of the Year title in the CAMRA Pub and Club 2017 Awards.

Wednesday, 17th January 2018, 11:11 am
Updated Wednesday, 17th January 2018, 11:17 am
David and Gemma Cook at The Curfew

It also won the Pub of the Year and Cider Pub of the Year awards for north Northumberland.

Gemma said: “We’re delighted with these awards. It makes all the hard work since we opened in 2014 worthwhile.”

She added: “I’d like to thank the CAMRA members who voted for us, all our customers, and in particular, our staff who help make The Curfew a place people enjoy coming to for a drink.”

Micro-pubs proved to be very popular with CAMRA members, who value high standards in beer cellarmanship and an interesting range of beer styles. Micro-pubs are also popular due to their warm friendly atmosphere, with conversation considered to be an important element of what makes a great pub.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Another micro-pub, The Office in Morpeth won South East Northumberland Pub of the Year award and Northumberland Cider Pub of the Year award. The Office was the previous Northumberland Pub of The Year winner and progressed through to win the North East Regional Pub of the Year.

The South West Northumberland Pub of the Year, which covers the Tyne Valley was won by The Tanners in Hexham, which also won the South West Northumberland Cider Pub of the Year award.

A pub which has not even been open a full year, has just won the prestigious Tyneside Pub of the Year award.

The Town Mouse is a micro-pub which opened at the Haymarket last February, came top in a poll of local CAMRA members, beating tremendous competition as Tyneside has many outstanding real ale pubs.

This is a major surprise, it is the first time in the branch’s history that a brand new beer venue has won a top award. It may be a first nationally! This is a tremendous achievement for Town Mouse landlord Jon Sibley, who is new to the pub trade after deciding on a career move and following his passion for beer.

Tyneside Cider Pub of the Year is locally and nationally renowned pub the Free Trade at the mouth of the Ouseburn in Newcastle. Tyneside Club of the Year is the Heaton Stannington Football Club, and the Northumberland Club of the Year is the Comrades Club, Haltwhistle.

Tyneside & Northumberland CAMRA Chair Hubert Geischen said: “Micro-pubs are clearly making a big impact on the local real ale scene, which is one of the best in the country.”

The Tyneside & Northumberland CAMRA branch has over 2,000 members and is one of the largest in the country.