Gappmaier and Lindman sign on to complete the Bandits for 2018

Berwick have given their fans an early Christmas present by announcing their complete starting line-up for the 2018 season.

Monday, 18th December 2017, 22:19 pm
Updated Tuesday, 19th December 2017, 07:00 am

Having previously unveiled five members of their team, the Bandits’ management revealed the final two pieces of their jigsaw at the weekend.

Making a return for a third year with the club is Dany Gappmaier, whilst completing the side is Swede John Lindman, who will be making his debut in British racing.

Co-promoter Scott Courtney said: “I am super excited to announce the final two signings to complete our team for next season.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

“Dany and John are both super-keen to ride for Berwick and that’s really important to us.”

Gappmaier, who is the reigning Austrian champion, improved his starting average of just under four to 5.11 in 2017 and he will start the season at reserve, riding alongside Australian Jye Etheridge, who was the club’s ‘Rider of the Year.’

Courtney said: “Dany has served his apprenticeship, has now seen all the British tracks and is confident of improving his average even further in 2018.”

Lindman, who is 23, will be making his first move into British speedway having previously raced in Sweden with Vargana, Masarna and Hammarby.

But he is no stranger to the Berwick management as in 2016, when former rider and fellow Swede Sebastian Alden suffered a neck injury, he was the club’s number one choice to line up as his replacement.

“Unfortunately, it was logistically impossible to pull the move off,” said Courtney. “Lindman’S average has now been reassessed from seven to 5.2 and we have worked overtime to secure his signature and make him a fully fledged Berwick Bandit.

“His top level experience in Sweden, his all action style and never say die attitude will no doubt make him an instant hit with our fans.”

Gappmaier (average 5.11) and Lindman (5.20) will now go to the tapes for the new season in March alongside skipper Kevin Doolan (6.36), the returning David Howe (6.18) and Jye Etheridge (5.06), plus Nikolaj Busk Jakobsen (6.50) and new signing Aaron Summers (7.98), who will start out the year at number one.