Berwick Academy studentis elected to youth cabinet

Nearly 6,000 young people in schools across the county have to elect Youth Parliament representatives and new members of the Northumberland Youth Cabinet.

Saturday, 6th January 2018, 7:27 am
Newly elected Youth Cabinet and Youth Parliament members.

Clark Kent Chavez and Ben Guadagno were successfully elected to Northumberland’s Youth Parliament.

Berwick Academy pupil Emily Cavanagh, Ezzie Critchlow, Cerys Ford, Matthew McCormack and Robbie Scott were successfully elected to Northumberland’s Youth Cabinet.

Coun Wayne Daley, deputy leader and cabinet member for children’s services, said: “We are proud to have so many young people who care deeply about the future of the county. I’d like to congratulate all the successful candidates and wish them every success as they take on important roles representing the county’s young people.

“There was a really high turn-out at the polls, which just goes to show how tuned in young people in Northumberland are and how much they care about where they live. The new members of the Cabinet and Parliament have some great ideas and are really passionate. I’m looking forward to working with them.”

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The new members will take up post of their two year term on 29th January 2018 following detailed planning of their projects for the forthcoming year when they will be joined by the existing Youth Cabinet and Youth Parliament members.

Elections take place annually and any young person who is interested in standing in the future can email for more information.